Home Contact Us
Lights

EN / 中文   

About Us (Our Mission)

About Us
(Our Mission)

About Us
(Our Mission)

 

3 Objectives:

Lights

Founded in 2001 with the help of the Social Welfare Department, the Caritas Computer Workshop initially aimed at providing teenagers with computer hardware and software vocational training. As part of the training programme, participants should provide voluntary computer repair and upgrade service to NGOs and families in need.


In 2003, Supported by the Environmental Protection Department, the workshop started the Computer Reuse Programme, which serves to lower the amount of electronic waste to landfills and help the people in need with reused computers. The computers not qualified for reuse were disassembled and grouped according to the EPD’s demands. After that, they were sold to recyclers for recycling, with the income used to support the computer reuse programme.


In 2018, CTRL+Z, Caritas Computer Workshop’s new service point, was opened. It provides reused computers and digital products for service targets as well as the public. Caritas Computer Workshop moved to a factory building in To Kwa Wan the same year.


2019, Apart from the above, in a time of high teenage unemployment rate, the computer reuse programme provides teenagers with job opportunities, helping a great number of teenagers to find their career path over the years.


 

footer-logo   © 2021 Caritas Computer Workshop.

主頁 聯絡我們
Lights

EN / 中文   

工場背景及理念

工場背景及理念

工場背景及理念

 

3大理念:

Lights

2001年獲社會福利署支持而成立的「明愛電腦工場」,是為接受綜援的低學歷青年人提供電腦軟硬件訓練課程及就職培訓。作為培訓的一部份,所有學員均須參與義務工作,把舊電腦維修及升級,送贈給非牟利機構或貧苦家庭。


2003年至2018年得到環保署的資助,成立了電腦再生計劃,在減少電腦廢物的同時,亦能將可重用的電腦轉贈有需要的人士,讓更多人受惠。而不適合重用的電腦,會按照環保署的指示,拆件分類,賣予回收商作循環再用,而所有收入均作為活動的資助。


2018年九龍灣「明愛電腦工場-CTRL+Z原點」地鋪正式開幕,為公眾提供電腦和智能電話維修及購買服務。同年「明愛電腦工場」搬遷到土瓜灣工廈,正式成為自負盈虧的社會企業。


2019年工場成為機電工程署認可的註冊電業承辦商,亦是首間NGO獲此資格。除此之外,在失業率高企的情況下,電腦工場更為年青人創造了就業的機會,多年來聘請不少就業有困難的青年人。


 

footer-logo   © 2021 Caritas Computer Workshop.